RQ to introduce designated racing regions

March 26, 2020
Racing Queensland will implement designated race regions across the state from next week in a bid to further quarantine the industry from the current COVID-19 pandemic.

With a raft of biosecurity measures already in place, including patron-free racing and a mandatory 14-day self-isolation period for licensed participants, RQ will introduce measures from Sunday that will provide five key thoroughbred regions and four key greyhound regions as part of a multi-staged approach to health and safety.

As part of the decision, thoroughbred racing will be consolidated to 15 racetracks and jockeys will be permitted to race in one of the five designated regions.

Trainers and stable staff will be further restricted to one of eight zones (eg: Darling Downs or South East but not both).

During this period, horses or greyhounds will NOT be permitted to be transferred between zones for the purpose of racing.

Furthermore, any horse or greyhound that is presently domiciled inter-state and does not enter Queensland by 11.59pm on Sunday, March 29, will not be allocated a region and will no longer be able to race until further notice.

Horses or greyhounds will be permitted to be transferred across regions for non-racing purposes such as agistment or re-homing.

The thoroughbred regions are:

•    Metro North (Brisbane and Sunshine Coast);
•    Metro South West (Gold Coast, Ipswich and Toowoomba);
•    Darling Downs and SEQ Coast;
•    Central West and Central; and
•    North West and North.

Click here to see further information on the thoroughbred regions and zones.

2020-03-27T08:43:56+10:00March 27th, 2020|News|